About GPhA

The Georgia Pharmacy Association seeks to be the unified voice of the pharmacy profession in Georgia, aggressively advocating for the profession in shaping public policy, encouraging ethical health care practices, while enhancing the profession’s value in health care.

The 2015-2016
GPhA Board of Directors

President/Board Chair: Tommy Whitworth

E-mail: twhitworth@corleydrug.com

President Elect:
Lance Boles
E-mail: lanceboles@hotmail.com

Immediate Past President: Bobby Moody
E-mail: coliseumpharmacy@gmail.com

First Vice President:
Liza Chapman
E-mail: liza.chapman@kroger.com

Second Vice President:
Tim Short

Chief Executive Officer:
Scott Brunner
E-mail: sbrunner@gpha.org

Academy Designee (AHP/ACP):
John Drew
E-mail: rxdrew@yahoo.com

AEP Designee: Sharon Deason

AIP Designee: Drew Miller
E-mail: wynnsRx@aol.com

 

At-Large Appointees:

David Graves

Daryl Reynolds (dreynolds@u-save-it.com)

Chris Thurmond (vildrug@bellsouth.net)

Quick info

Contact us

The Georgia Pharmacy Association
50 Lenox Pointe NE
Atlanta, GA 30324

(404) 231-5074 or (888) 871-5590

Fax to (404) 237-8435

 

Press inquiries

Contact our CEO, Scott Brunner, at (404) 231-5074 or sbrunner@gpha.org

Advertising and sponsorship opportunities
In our magazine, websites, convention, or other events and publications

Contact Denis Mucha at dmucha@gpha.org

More info

Our staff

Our mission statement

Bylaws and other documents

Our history

GPhA Staff

Scott Brunner
CEO(404) 231-5074
sbrunner@gpha.org
Patricia Aguliar
Accounting Coordinator
(404) 419-8124
paguliar@gpha.org
Sarah Bigorowski
Director of Continuing Education & Events(404) 419-8126
sbigorowski@gpha.org
Diane Jones
Vice President of Finance & Administration(404) 419-8129
djones@gpha.org
Andrew Kantor
Communication Directorakantor@gpha.org
Ruth Ann McGehee(404) 419-8173
rmcgehee@gpha.org
tei Tei “T” Muhammad
Director of Membership Operations(404) 419-8115
tmuhammad@gpha.org
denis Denis Mucha
Manager of Insurance Servicesdmucha@gpha.org
Phillip Ratliff
Vice President of Communication and Engagementpratliff@gpha.org

GPhA Staff: Academy of Independent Pharmacy

Jeff Lurey, R.Ph.
Director/GPhA Vice President of Independent Pharmacy(404) 419-8103
jlurey@gpha.org
Amanda Gaddy, RPh
Director of Clinical Services(404) 419-8102
agaddy@gpha.org
Verouschka “V” Betancourt-Whigham
Manager of AIP Member Services(404) 419-8102
vbwhigham@gpha.org

AIP Member Service Representatives

Rhonda Bonner229-854-2797
rbonner@gpha.org
Charles Boone478-955-7789
cboone@gpha.org
Melissa Methenymmetheny@gpha.org
Gene Smith423-667-7949
gsmith@gpha.org

Our official mission statement

The mission of the Georgia Pharmacy Association is to promote and enhance the profession of pharmacy and the practice standards of its practitioners. Further, the association shall work to heighten the public’s perception of the profession of pharmacy and pharmacists, and to promote the value of pharmacy services to the health and welfare of the general public.

Our history

In the summer of 1875, a concerned group of Georgia pharmacists sent a notice to all the pharmacists of the state, requesting them to assemble in Macon on October 20, 1875:

“to consider the organization of a pharmaceutical association, binding each other with closer ties of friendship and to promote interest in the junior members of the fraternity and exciting the spirit of emulation and ambition; the interchange and dissemination of scientific researches; the framing of laws to be enacted that will result not only in the protection of the profession but the public in general.”

Georgia’s newspapers published the notice at no charge and the railroads agreed to provide reduced rates from any point in the state to Macon for anyone who wished to attend the meeting.

At least twenty pharmacists were present in Macon at Freeman’s Hall at eight o’clock on the evening of October 20, 1875. The meeting included brief presentations by a member of the State Board of Health and three physicians from the Macon Medical Society, all of whom assured cooperation and support from their organizations. Following these presentations, the delegation of pharmacists adopted a constitution with an objective to bring together all the “reputable druggists” of the state in an association in the interests of the profession at large, specifying that every druggist and apothecary of good moral and professional standing whether in business, or in retirement from business, or employed by another, and the teachers of pharmacy, chemistry, materia medica, and botany, who may be professors in any college of pharmacy, should constitute the membership of the association. Thus, the Georgia Pharmaceutical Association was established.

Today the Georgia Pharmacy Association is a nationally respected voice for the pharmacy profession.